EYFS - Early Years Foundation Stage

Kids 4 Us Nursery and After School Kids Club in Madeley, Telford work within the EYFS - Early Years Foundation Stage framework - 7 Areas of Learning.

Children develop and learn in a variety of ways therefore all seven areas are equally important and come together to support a rounded approach to child development. During the Nursery session children experience challenging and enjoyable activities across all areas of learning and development.

How My Child Will Be Learning
The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.
Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:
• Communication and language;
• Physical development; and
• Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.
As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:
• Literacy;
• Mathematics;
• Understanding the world; and
• Expressive arts and design.

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it's suitable for very young children, and it's designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child's unique needs and interests.

When Your Child is 2
Your child’s key person will give you a written summary of how your child is progressing against the 3 prime areas of learning:
• communication and language;
• physical development; and
• personal, social and emotional development.

This is called the progress check at age 2.
This check will highlight areas where your child is progressing well and any where they might need some extra help or support – and how mums and dads and other family members or carers can work with the key person to help. You might find it useful to share the information from the check with other professionals such as health visitors (who can use it as part of the health and development review).

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The overarching aim of the EYFS is to help young children achieve the five Every Child Matters outcomes of staying safe, being healthy, enjoying and achieving, making a positive contribution and achieving economic well being.

The EYFS is built on four guiding themes:

A Unique Child:
Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships:
Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/ or a key person.

Enabling Environments:
The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.

Learning and Development:
Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning and development are equally important and inter-connected.

Where Can I Go For Further Information?
The most important place to find out more is your child’s nursery – do ask as many questions as you need to. Kids 4 Us really do welcome speaking with you.
You can find the Early Years Foundation Stage which includes the early learning goals at www.foundationyears.org.uk  or on the parent’s notice board in the nursery entrance hall.